What are the different levels of the IELTS exam?

Do you want to go abroad for higher education or for work? You will need to start by qualifying your level of English. Why not take the IELTS? Indeed, the IELTS exam is one of the exams that allow you to evaluate your English language skills. Taking it is interesting and useful as it also adds value to your CV.

What is IELTS?

IELTS stands for the International English Language Testing System. It was created 25 years ago to measure the mastery of the 4 main language skills: listening, reading, speaking and writing. It is well-known not only to students but also to employers worldwide. The results can be used to support your application for a job, visas or a place at an English-speaking university. Once you have passed the exam, you will be issued with a certificate to prove your English language skills. This is essential, as some institutions require this certificate from the IELTS standard English test, otherwise you will not be able to enroll at a university or to be employed at a company. 

What exams do I have to take?

IELTS is a standardised certification that serves to prove a person's current English language ability. It is often taken as an alternative to TOEIC and TOEFL. In order to obtain this certificate, the person concerned is required to take the IELTS exam. There are two types of IELTS exams, namely IELTS Academic and IELTS General Training. Any legal entity is eligible to take both exams, regardless of their level of English. However, while the Academic exam assesses academic language skills, the GT exam is essential to test the candidate's ability in everyday life. Its four papers will be determined in a total duration of 2 h 45 min on paper. It should be noted that each year, nearly 2 million candidates take it.

How do I know my level?

A specific level is validated by the IELTS certification according to the score obtained by the candidate. It is this total score that defines the candidate's final score, and therefore their level on the IELTS scale. There are 9 levels in total, ranging from non-user to expert. There is no minimum level to take this exam. For those who wish to take it, there are currently many online tests that can help you get through the IELTS exams. They have been designed to allow you to practice for this exam.
The best tips for learning business English
Some tips for writing a cover letter in English

Plan du site